“Your MOC Status Has Changed”

Dr. Jonathan Weiss shares his correspondence with ABIM:

Dear ABIM,

ABIM’s Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program in fact does NOT offer me a structured framework for keeping up with and assessing my knowledge of the latest scientific developments in practice in my specialty. Rather, it offers me a structured program in indentured servitude to the ABIM, a program which, you’ll have to forgive me, I will now take a pass on, after 20 years of foolish and blind participation, with NO benefit whatsoever to my practice of medicine. We understand how busy you are but wanted to inform you that since you did not fulfill your MOC requirements by December 31, 2014 your MOC status changed on January 1, 2015.  Really? I don’t think you have the slightest idea how busy a front line, in-the-trenches clinician is in this country, trying to stay afloat above EMR, MU, MOC and other burdens, but then, how could you know what we go through on a daily basis from your ivory tower?

Log in and view your MOC Status Report to check your status for the certifications you hold as well as your outstanding MOC program requirements. Your Status Report will tell you what you need to do. What I need to do is continue to deliver excellent care to my patients, continue to pursue self-directed inexpensive life long learning of my choosing and to not allow so much as one more dime of my hard earning money to pass into your overflowing coffers.

Your certification status will be restored as soon as your outstanding requirements are met.  There is nothing wrong with my certification status; like a lawyer who passes the bar, I became certified at the completion of my training and I will be forever certified. I am free of you.

Warmly,

Dr. Weiss

moc-weiss

Leave a Reply

