The Wheel of Misfortune

THE SOVEREIGN PATIENT

downloadHow hard is it in today’s Healthcare climate to pin down a price? I thought I would test this query by making some phone calls to our local premier children’s urgent care facility. I proceeded to call the nearest location to my house to inquire about the cost of having my (hypothetical) healthy 9 year old evaluated for possible strep throat.

The very pleasant lady on the phone told me if I didn’t have insurance that it would be a minimum of $75.00. I told her that while minimums are nice to know, I was really more interested in the maximum. I asked the next most logical comparative question which was what the price would be if I had insurance. She said it all depended on the co-pay and the benefits, whether or not a met my deductible and so forth. I asked what amount they would bill to my…

View original post 379 more words

Leave a Reply

