Letter to Fellow Psychiatrists about MOC and MOL

The Practical C-L Psychiatrist

I am as frustrated as you are about MOC and MOL. I wonder if mass noncompliance will be the way younger physicians go in the future. And I wonder if that’s what it will take to make the boards pay attention.

I have been a staunch supporter of the principle of lifelong learning and opposed to Maintenance of Certification (MOC) and Maintenance of Licensure (MOL) for a number of years. You can check my views on my blog site, http://thepracticalpsychosomaticist.com/

The recent ABIM petition opposing MOC shows that nearly 10,000 have signed it. The number of signatures on my petition opposing MOL in Iowa creeps along, but shows a fundamentally similar objection to non-evidence-based processes which burden doctors.

Few physicians will give up their certification. I’m in academia and don’t have the option of simply quitting MOC. I just took the recertification exam for Psychosomatic Medicine only days ago. In…

View original post 832 more words

Leave a Reply

