ABOG Attacks First Amendment

FYI from Howard Mandel, M.D.:
So I send ABOG a letter requesting that they delay their MOC until after the ABMS AAPS litigation is settled. They respond by saying that ” an ad hoc committee of ABOG has reviewed your email and the request to delay…” and denied the request. They also reminded me of the ramifications of me not completing the process per their time line.
Now they are trying to limit my first amendment rights to talk about by refusing me permission to say what they wrote me.   See below email chain. Is this not the definition of hubris?

Have a great weekend and thanks to you all for standing up for the practicing physicians in America.  Feel free to quote me or use my emails for the press etc.
Howie
—–Original Message—–
From: pairrodocs <pairrodocs@aol.com>
To: gwendel <gwendel@abog.org>
Sent: Fri, Jan 31, 2014 2:14 pm
Subject: Re: ABOG Maintenance of Certification

Dear Dr. Wendel,
On December 5, 2013 you sent me a certified letter that does not say anything about it being a “confidential” correspondence that could not be copied. Furthermore, the letter is not ABOG’s property, you wrote it to me and it is now mine.  Clearly you wanted to prove that I got it as you certified the letter and requested a return receipt.
I promise the I will not use ABOG logo. As for quoting your comments or use of the letter, I respectfully disagree with your limitation of my First Amendment Right to free speech.
If you did not want to make comments that are embarrassing to you or to ABOG perhaps you should not have sent them either electronically or by certified letter.
Four day ago, I sent you a copy of an email as well as the following:
Dear Dr. Wendel,
I hope this note finds you and your family well and that you had some time to enjoy the holidays.
I sent you a copy of my email because I believe that you should be aware that I believe that I have a right to share the letter with other physicians or concerned individuals. Is it not a free speech first amendment right of mine to speak my mind?
Would ABOG prefer that I speak my mind and say that ABOG refuses to allow me to share their response to my letter?
My goal is not to hurt our profession nor to hurt ABOG. I am a strong believer that everyone should be initially board certified. I just believe that MOC damages our profession and has never been shown scientifically to improve the care and treatment of women.
Please be clear, my letter will be widely distributed. If you do not want your letter to be shown with it, please inform. If you prefer to have an alternative statement created by ABOG’s communications or legal team please let me know by the end of today’s work day.
I wish you and your family the very best of health, happiness and prosperity in 2014 and in the years to come.
Respectfully,
Howie
Howard C. Mandel M.D.
 Please note I offered at that time, ABOG the opportunity:  If you prefer to have an alternative statement created by ABOG’s communications or legal team please let me know by the end of today’s work day.
 
Neither you nor ABOG responded to me then. Once again, I would offer you to create an alternative statement to be posted or sent out as I submit my letter for publication to the medical as well as perhaps mainstream press.
As MOC has never been scientifically proven to improve the quality of medical practice and there is litigation concerning this and ABMS, the fact ABOG has denied my request to delay the ABOG MOC process for all Diplomates until that litigation is resolved, is and should be news worthy. Why would you not want the American public to be aware of the debate taking place in the House of Medicine?
My letter to you and the entire board clearly supports my arguments. I have attached another copy for your convenience. Veritas vos liberabit—Shouldn’t we insist on the truth?
 
Have a wonderful weekend.
With respect and satyagraha,
Howie
Howard C. Mandel M.D.
—–Original Message—–
From: George Wendel <gwendel@abog.org>
To: pairrodocs <pairrodocs@aol.com>
Sent: Thu, Jan 30, 2014 2:34 pm
Subject: RE: ABOG Maintenance of Certification

Dear Dr. Mandel,
Thank you for your reply this week.
You do not have ABOG’s or my permission to duplicate my email or quote my comments to you in the emails.
The ABOG logo is a registered trademark.  You do not have ABOG’s permission to duplicate it or use it in any way.
Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.
Sincerely,
George D. Wendel, MD
Maintenance of Certification
American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology
2915 Vine Street
Dallas, TX   75204
Phone:  (214) 721-7510
Leave a Reply

